+34 91 866 90 10

Biography of Francisco Corell

Francisco Corell Ayora

Francisco Corell

Francisco Corell

Francisco Corell Ayora was born in Valencia on 18 November 1921.
He completed his primary and secondary education at the Jesuit College of Valencia, whereupon he commenced his tertiary education at the Faculty of Medicine in Valencia and the Faculty of Law at Deusto Universty.

Francisco Corell Ayora was an advocate of the transport industry and of the introduction of qualitative improvements thereto.
A tireless promoter of business associationism, in the sixties he held representative positions in the Spanish Transport and Communications Union, discharging the role of Chairman of the Spanish Employers’ Union in the seventies until the dissolution of said Union, which gave way to the new democratic associationism.

From 1977 to 1986 he held the position of Chairman of the Valencian Federation of Transport Companies, of which he was also the founder, being subsequently elected Chairman of Honour.

From 1978 to 1982 he held the position of Chairman of the Spanish Federation of Freight Transport (F.N.T.M.), which he developed and founded together with other industry entrepreneurs.

Between 1979 and 1986 he held the position of CEO of the Institute of Transport and Communication Studies, an organisation belonging to the former Ministry of Public Works and Transport.

From 1982 to 1990 he held the position of Chairman of the Association of International Road Transport (A.S.T.I.C.) and Chairman of Honour since 1990, date on which he resigned from office to be appointed Chairman of the International Road Transport Union (I.R.U.), based in Geneva, which is the highest international organisation representing Road Transport.

Between 1986 and 1990 he held the position of CEO of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) in Brussels.

Likewise, he was awarded the Command of the Order of Cisneros, the First-Class Medal to Trade Union Merit, the Gold Medal of the C.E.T.M., the Gold Badge of the A.S.T.I.C. and countless awards instituted by the most representative organisations of the Road Transport industry.